About the Committee

The Norwegian Atlantic Committee was established in 1955 after an initiative by then-chairman of the Committee of Foreign Affairs of the Norwegian Parliament, Finn Mo. The Committee is politically independent and works towards the goal of furthering a wider understanding of Norwegian foreign, defence, and security policy, with particular emphasis on Euro-Atlantic cooperation.

The Norwegian Atlantic Committee organises meetings, seminars, regional courses on security policy, study trips, as well as a number of other major conferences. The Committee also seeks to gain an understanding of Norwegian foreign and security policy abroad, doing so through meetings, conferences, individual study trips, and group excursions abroad.

During the last decade the Committee has been working with a broader definition of “security”, which focuses not only on Norwegian defence and trans-Atlantic security policy cooperation, but also on such topics as nuclear safety, energy and the environment, disarmament, terrorism, human rights, and civil defence. In addition, we have broadened our geographic field of interest to include the Arctic, Europe, Russia, the Balkans, the Black Sea, the Caucasus, and the Middle East.

The Norwegian Atlantic Committee works largely with intermediaries, such as the media, politicians, organisations, ministries, military personnel, diplomats, scientists, as well as teachers in secondary schools. Students are also an important target group for the Committee. Moreover, the Committee is a secretariat for The Atlantic Association of Young Political Leaders (AAYPL) and The Youth Atlantic Treaty Association (YATA) in Norway.

For its activities the Committee receives public funding, predominately from the Ministries of Defence and Foreign Affairs, but also from NATO’s Public Diplomacy Division.

A board led by former MP Kjell Engebretsen governs the Committee.

In its day-to-day work the Committee is run by a secretariat of four employees.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Adr: Fridtjof Nansens plass 8, 0160 Oslo - Tlf: 22 40 36 00 - Faks: 22 40 36 10 - E-post: post@atlanterhavskomiteen.no

Nettløsning og design er levert av ViaNett AS